TCU Lettermen’s Hall of Fame Class of 2020

April 22nd, 2020 by Cam Fenton

UPDATED info due to COVID-19

The TCU Lettermen’s Association has announced its 2020 Hall of Fame Class.

This year’s honorees, representing the 53rd class to be inducted, include Michael Cannon ‘86 (men’s track and field), Bryan Holaday ‘10 (baseball), Jerry Hughes ‘10 (football), Jamie MacCurdy Kizer ‘02 (women’s swimming and diving), Victor Payne ‘02 (football) and Roy Williams ‘01 (men’s track and field). Additionally, Nolan Brawley ‘64 (men’s track and field) is this year’s Vintage inductee with longtime TCU Senior Associate Athletics Director for Facilities and Operations T. Ross Bailey ’76 the first-ever honoree in the Special Contributor category.

Induction ceremonies will take place Thursday, Sept. 23, with the class recognized at the Sept. 25 home football game versus Oklahoma State.

Cannon was a two-time All-American in both the 400m and 4×400. He was a Southwest Conference champion in the 4×400 and finished fifth at the 1985 NCAA Championship. He was also a quarterfinalist at the 1984 Olympic Trials in the 400m. He established a TCU record in the 400m that stood for 19 years.

Holaday received the 2010 Johnny Bench Award as the nation’s top catcher. He earned All-America honors in leading TCU to its first College World Series appearance. He was named to the 2010 All-CWS team. A three-time all-conference recipient, he set TCU season records for games played (68), hits (99) and total bases (176).

Hughes is one of just two players in TCU football history to be a two-time consensus first-team All-American. He won the 2009 Ted Hendricks Award as the nation’s top defensive end and was also the 2009 Lott IMPACT Trophy recipient. A two-time Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year and Dan Rogers TCU Most Valuable Player, he led the nation with 15 sacks and six forced fumbles in 2008. The 15 sacks rank second for a season in TCU history.

MacCurdy Kizer was a member of the Conference USA All-Decade Team while only swimming one year in the league. She won four events and was runner-up in two more at the 2002 C-USA Championships. She was named TCU’s Athlete of the Year for all sports in 2002 and TCU’s Most Valuable Swimmer all four years.

Payne was first-team All-Conference USA as a senior in 2001 and named by Sporting News as the conference’s Best Blocker. He made 36 career starts and was a key part of LaDainian Tomlinson leading the nation in rushing in 1999 and 2000.

Williams was a 2000 NCAA Champion in the 4×400 and a national runner-up in 1998. A three-time All-American, he was on the winning 4×400 at the 2000 Penn Relays. He was a 10-time All-WAC recipient and the 2000 and 2001 champion in the 400m. He was also on three WAC Championship 4×400 teams (1998-00).

Brawley was a three-year letterman in track and field and co-captain of the 1963-64 team. He was the Southwest Conference runner-up in the mile and all-conference in the event.

Bailey has had a six-decade association with the Horned Frogs, including being named head athletics trainer at the age of 24. He moved into an administrative role in 1998 and currently serves as the senior associate athletics director for facilities and operations.

Please join us in congratulating the Class of 2020 as they prepare to be inducted into the TCU Lettermen’s Hall of Fame.


Due to COVID-19, Hall of Fame Weekend for the class will take place the weekend of September 23-25 and will be held in the Legends Club & Suites at Amon G. Carter Stadium.

  • Posted in
  • Comments Off on TCU Lettermen’s Hall of Fame Class of 2020
Back to the top